Blood Transfusion Supplement 3 - Haemophilia Centre Accreditation Systems and Networks of Centres of Expertise for Rare Diseases in Europe and North America (off subscription) (April)
The European standards of Haemophilia Centres
Authors:  Paul Giangrande, Gabriele Calizzani, Ivana Menichini, Fabio Candura, Pier Mannuccio Mannucci, Michael Makris
Pages:  s525-s530
To cite this article:  Blood Transfus 2014; 12 Suppl 3: s525-30
Doi:  10.2450/2014.0056-14s
Published online:  06/05/2014

Introduction. The European haemophilia community of professionals and patients has agreed on the principles of haemophilia care to address comprehensive optimal delivery of care which is nowadays scattered throughout Europe. Many of the health facilities call themselves Haemophilia Centres despite their variation in size, expertise and services provided. Only a small number of countries have Haemophilia Centre accreditation systems in place.
Methods. In the framework of the European Haemophilia Network project, following an inclusive process of stakeholder involvement, the European Guidelines for the certification of haemophilia centres have been developed in order to set quality standards for European Haemophilia Centres and criteria for their certification.
Results. The Guidelines define the standards and criteria for the designation of two levels of care delivery: European Haemophilia Treatment Centres, providing local routine care, and European Haemophilia Comprehensive Care Centres, providing specialised and multi-disciplinary care and functioning as tertiary referral centres. Additionally, they define standards about general requirements, patient care, provision of an advisory service and establishment of network of clinical and specialised services.
Conclusions. The implementation of the European Guidelines for the certification of Haemophilia Centres will contribute to the reduction of health inequalities through the standardisation of quality of care in European Union Member States and could represent a model to be taken into consideration for other rare disease groups.
Keywords: standards and criteria, certification system, haemophilia care, EUHANET.
Full Text Download Back
Share this article: